Shop

Close

OBTAINING A BUSINESS LICENSE

Applications may be obtained from City Hall, located at 1600 Huntington Drive, Duarte, CA 91010, between the hours of 7:30 am – 6:00 pm, Monday – Thursday (closed Fridays and holidays) or by downloading the application online.

New Business License Application Fee

All new businesses are required to pay a one-time business license application fee in the amount of $35. 


GUIDE TO STARTING A BUSINESS IN DUARTE

business

Thank you for selecting the City of Duarte as the home for your future business. The City is ready to help you make it happen. The process of starting or expanding a business can be both exciting and challenging. We know you have questions about the types of permits and licenses you will need and the process that goes along with obtaining them. You may also have questions about general business planning and the preparation needed before you open for business. We are committed to making this process as straightforward as possible.

City staff has created this guide as a tool to provide direction and resources to help you navigate the licensing and permitting process. Hopefully, you will find that it provides valuable information no matter what stage you are in, from the entrepreneur exploring a new idea to the seasoned business owner seeking to expand.

The City of Duarte is committed to your success. As a service to potential businesses in our community, staff is happy to meet with you and provide any additional information.

We look forward to working with you!

Guide to Starting a Business in Duarte


Effective January 1, 2018

California State Mandated Fee of $4 for all Business Licenses and Renewal of Business Licenses

SB 1186 requires local agencies to collect a $4 fee from each applicant for a new or renewed “local business license or equivalent instrument or permit.” This requirement is effective beginning January 1, 2018 and ending December 31, 2023.

On and after January 1, 2024, the fees and requirements remain in effect but the amount will reduce to one-dollar ($1). The purpose is to fund Certified Access Specialist Programs (CASP) and to develop educational resources for businesses in order to facilitate compliance with Federal and state disability laws.

Federal and State laws require compliance with disability access law and is are a significant responsibility that applies to all California building owners and tenants with buildings open to the public. You may obtain information about your legal obligations and how to comply with disability access laws at the following agencies:

Division of the State Architect

Department of Rehabilitation

California Commission on Disability Access


HOW TO PROPERLY COMPLETE YOUR BUSINESS LICENSE APPLICATION

  1. Read the application thoroughly and complete all sections including business name, location and mailing address. State whether the business is a sole proprietorship, a partnership or a corporation. Be specific in describing the type of business such as retail, wholesale, general contractor, service, property rental, etc.
  2. Be sure to include the following information:
    • Business Description
    • Federal Employer Tax Identification Number or Social Security Number
    • State Employer Identification Number (if applicable)
    • State License Number (if applicable)
    • State Contractor’s Class and License Number (if applicable)
    • Retail Sales Tax Number (if applicable)
    • Owner(s)and/or Officer(s) Contact Information, home and emergency
  3. Be sure to sign and date the application.
  4. Submit the application along with your payment, payable to City of Duarte. An official business license certificate will be mailed to you in 2-3 weeks, after payment is processed.
  5. Complete a Business Application form.

If you need further assistance, please contact the Business License section at (626) 386-6813.

Fee Schedule

The fee schedule is provided for various business classifications within the City. Please contact Kristine Swart at (626) 386-6813.